Brian McCormick DVD

By Ryan McNeill

As a coach for an elementary school basketball team I’m always looking for a couple extra drills to add to my practices. I was looking at DVD’s this month and I came across one featuring Brian McCormick called “Great Ball-Handling Made Easy” that caught my attention. The cover wasn’t as flashy at the DVD’s by Better Basketball or Magic Johnson but after reading his book “Cross Over: The New Model of Youth Basketball Development” last month I became a fan of his coaching methodologies and I assumed that a DVD he endorsed would be full of drills I would want to incorporate into my practices.

I’ve been coaching elementary school basketball for nearly 10 years and as this season begins I’ve found myself wanting to incorporate some different drills into my practices. After reading Coach McCormick’s book last month I decided to get away trying to implement zones and set offenses and instead try to incoporate more games into my practices. This DVD didn’t include any specific games I can run with my players like his book did, but the DVD did address a lot of skill sets and skill progressions that I was able to easily adapt into games. Some of the specific skill sets that I have started to implement based on the skill progressions included in this DVD are the Behind–The-Back Dribble, Spin Dribbles and the Space/Pull Back Crossover Dribble.

Something that I’ve been struggling with in my practices is teaching my students how to successfully complete a fake crossover without carrying the ball. Without fail whenever one of my grade 7 or 8 students attempts this move they find their hand under the ball and are called for travelling. This video did a great job of breaking the fake crossover down into six mini-steps and when I used these in my latest practice my kids gobbled this up.

Another great tool included with this DVD was the “Take to the Court” card that I found inside the sleeve for the DVD case. After watching nearly 70 drills during the hour long DVD my mind was swimming and I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to remember all of the drills that Brian brought up in this video. Now I’ll just bring the card that holds the drills and sub drills to my practices and it will serve as a quick and easy reminder of the drills and progressions that Coach McCormick recommended.

Like I mentioned earlier in this post, I haven’t watched any other DVD’s so I don’t have anything to compare this DVD with. All I can tell you is that I was looking for a DVD with some drills that could keep my practices fresh while challenging my students and this DVD met that requirement. While this DVD doesn’t have the same production work as the other prominent videos on the market it does have quality content that coaches of youth teams will appreciate.

You can order this DVD by clicking here.

3 thoughts on “Brian McCormick DVD

  1. I have four gym times per week that last for a hour. That means I focus on dribbling drills, passing, defensive footwork and shooting once per week for 20-30 minutes and then I allow them to scrimmage. However, with younger kids (grades 7/8) I try to incorporate a lot of games within my drills and skill sets to keep things fun. For example, when I’m working on dribbling they play keep away within the three point arc, for passing I do a three man weave (which breaks into a 2 on 1 drill the kids love) and for defensive footwork I break out some drills my high school football coach used and my players get a laugh out of that.

    How often are you able to practice? How many days per week and for what amount of time?

Leave a Reply

