Charles Barkley for Governor of Alabama

The Birmingham News ran a great story today that claims Charles Barkley intends to run for governor of Alabama in 2010.

Barkley was quoted in the Birmingham News as saying “Alabama, that’s my home. I’m thinking about running for governor; they need the help. If it wasn’t for Arkansas and Mississippi, we’d be dead last in everything. I think we can do better.”

Later in the article Barkley was quoted as saying he’s serious about his desire to run for politics and that he’s “got to get people to realize that the government is full of it. Republicans and Democrats want to argue over stuff that’s not important, like gay marriage or the war in Iraq or illegal immigration. They push those issues because they play well on TV and because they deceive people. When I run – if I run – we’re going to talk about real issues like improving our schools, cleaning up our neighborhoods of drugs and crime and making Alabama a better place for all people.”

Barkley then sounded off on how the youth in America are lacking direction and guidance. Barkely told the paper that, “people will tell you this is America and there is a level playing field. That’s the most BS you’re ever going to hear. If you’re poor, if you’re dodging bullets and drop out (of school), it’s not a level playing field. There are too many black kids and their parents who do not value a good education. There are places where a black kid who is a good student and tries to speak correctly, you hear stuff like, `He’s trying to be white.’ Well I say, if that’s true, we need more kids trying to be white.”

Up until that point I was starting to think that Barkely wasn’t just blowing hot air and that he may actually be a decent politician if given a chance. Then he continued to flap his gums and his diarrhea of the mouth killed that idea in my mind.

Barkley told the Birmingham News that, “I really believe I was put on Earth to do more than play basketball and stockpile money. I really want to help people improve their lives, and what’s left is for me to decide how best to do that.”

That definitely isn’t what a bunch of people struggling to make ends meet want to here. Why would they vote for yet another fat cat that’s rich beyond belief while they struggle to make ends meat? With an asinine comment like this Barkley looks like he went from a promising career in politics to bum in less than 30 seconds.

While I may feel that Barkley tarnished his “rep,” you never know what voters will do when they have a chance to vote for a “star” running for office. Earlier this month I spent a night in Alabama and those folks would be just the kind of rabid sports fans that would vote a sports star into their government – just like California voted a movie star like Arnold Schwarzenegger into office.

2 thoughts on “Charles Barkley for Governor of Alabama

  1. A couple thoughts here (and keep in mind I don’t know whether I’d ever vote for him or not, and I’m not advocating either way)

    – First, don’t underestimate his ability to learn. He’s a smart guy, but not a politician. Most newbie politicos stick their foot in their mouth more often than they should.

    – Second, don’t underestimate the refreshing nature of someone willing to talk straight. Barkley IS rich. And the fact that he’s not hiding from it and instead stating an apparent desire to use that opportunity do something positive for people may be attractive to Alabama’s voters

    – Third, don’t underestimate the voter’s ability to look through his mistakes and develop an understanding of what his core values are and then vote based on whether they agree with those values or not.

  2. Great points John and I feel the need to confess that I was a bit hard on Barkley – you can blame my pessimistic attitude today on the Vince Carter/Rob Babcock post before this that put me in a foul mood. I’m a huge fan of Barkley’s and I love most of his vision, it’s just this one small quote that I jumped on and after thinking about this post I regret doing so.

Leave a Reply

